PLAY/URBAN - A Residency on Creative Practice and Research

time based media / audience / people as infrastructure / research / site-specific / interventions / performance / body politics / staging / collaboration / play / chance / randomness / collaboration / networks / collective actionboration / play / chance / randomness / collaboration / networks / collective action

27 August to 22 September 2012
Venue: VANSA, Parking Gallery, Substation and around.
Every Wednesday 18:30 Parking Gallery (VANSA)

Play/Urban Launch Party 

When: 29 August @ 6:30pm

Where: New VANSA Space - King Kong Building, 1st floor, 6 Verwey Street, New Doornfontein, Johannesburg

Directions click here.

More specific information will be publicized as the project takes form.

For more info visit or

Play>Urban is a collaborative project initiated by two art schools, ESAD Strasbourg and WITS School of Arts, with VANSA involved in an advisory role. Play>Urban critically explores creative practice as a form of research. The first in a series of residencies is planned for September 2012 in Johannesburg and will involve collaborations between students, teachers, artists, researchers and cultural activists, who will be exploring urban spaces in the Johannesburg CBD.
During the residency there will be numerous public interventions in the city, as well as weekly discussions, presentations, exhibitions or performances. The Parking Gallery, housed at the new VANSA space will host weekly presentations every Wednesday at 18:30

Zen Marie
Jean Christophe Lanquetin
Natasha Christopher

Participants include:
Wits School of Arts, University of the Witwatersrand:
Zen Marie, Natasha Christopher, Naadira Patel
Participating students:
Zakara Raitt, Victoria Wigzell, Michelle Monareng, Mellissa Bennet,
Megan Mace,
Matete Motubatse,
Madeleine Dymond,
Laurenci Dow,
Anathi Radebe,
Benjamin Metcalfe,
Tatenda Magaisa, Janike Fourie.

Haute Ecole d’Arts du Rhin – ESAD, STRASBOURG:
Jean Christophe Lanquetin, Eléonore Hellio, Francois Duconseille, Gregoire Zabé, Marie Fricout,
Pauline Lepeu

Participating students:

Adrien Maufay,
Marielle Agboton,
Floriane Jan,
Irène Tchernooutsan,
Juliette Autin,
Alice Neveu,
Eve Chabanon,
Silvio Milone

Académie des Beaux Arts, Kinshasa:
Patrick Missassi
Participating students: Michel Ekeba, Christian Mukenge

Partners, invited artists and researchers:
VANSA: Joseph Gaylard and Lester Adams
Parking Gallery: Simon Gush and Ruth Sacks
Dead Heat: Dorothee Kreutzfeldt and Bettina Malcomess
Keleketla! Library: Rangoate Hlasane and Malose Malahlela
AMAZE: Thorsten Wiedeman
Ntsoana Contemporary Dance Theatre: Sello Pesa
Donna Kukama
Calin Dan

Dominique Malaquais
Kemang Wa Lehulere,
 Murray Kruger, Shogan Ganas
And others


Event organised as part of the France-South Africa Seasons 2012 & 2013.
The France – South Africa Seasons 2012 & 2013 are organised and implemented:

For France:
By Institut français with the support of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Culture and Communication, the Ministry of National Education, the Ministry of Higher Education and Research, the Ministry for Sports, Youth, Non-formal Education and Voluntary Organisations, the Ministry of Industrial Renewal, the Ministry of Craft Industry, Trade and Tourism, the French Embassy in South Africa and the network of Alliance Française.

Chairman: Xavier Darcos

General Commissioner: Laurent Clavel

For South Africa:
By the Department of Arts and Culture and the National Arts Council (NAC), with the support of the Department of Science and Technology, the Department of Sports and Recreation, the
Department of Tourism, the Department of Trade and Industry, the Department of Higher Education and Training, the Department of Basic Education, and the Embassy of South Africa in France.

Chairman: Dikgang Moopeloa.

General Commissioner: Bongani Tembe.

The French Season in South Africa is supported in 2012 by a committee of sponsors chaired by Mr Luc Oursel, AREVA President and Chief Executive Officer, Chairman of the Executive Board of AREVA. This committee is made of the following corporations: AREVA, Air France, Bouygues Travaux Publics, EDF, GDF-SUEZ, Mazars, Fondation Orange and Total.

Bookmark and Share
Document Actions



« October 2017 »