Opportunity Description

The Jan van Eyck Academie is committed to exploring the agency, roles, and civic significance of art, design and other creative practices in relation to climate change, environmental breakdown, and their manifold effects. This institutional focus opens up a wide discourse and creates a framework that embraces a diversity of practices and allows for a multitude of voices.

As a post-academic institute, the Jan van Eyck Academie supports this myriad of artistic endeavours by offering participants the time, space and expertise to further develop, materialise and disseminate their artistic research in a critical and reciprocal relationship with each other and the world.

The academy provides each selected participant with a private studio; guidance of our advisers; access to our library and labs – Photography & Audiovisual, Material Matters, Food, Printing & Publishing, and Future Materials; and expertise of departments for Nature Research, Art & Society and Research & Education. Next to their individual projects, participants are encouraged to collaboratively develop an In-Lab project and to contribute to the Jan van Eyck public programme.

How to Apply

You can find all information about the application and selection procedure as well as the link for the application form here.


The application fee is waived for applicants from and living in the Least Developed Countries, Low Income Countries and Lower Middle Income Countries and Territories on the DAC list. Please see the DAC list attached here.

“Least Developed Countries
Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia

Low Income Countries
Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Zimbabwe

Lower Middle Income Countries and Territories
Armenia, Bolivia, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, El Salvador, Eswatini, Georgia, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tokelau, Tunisia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, West Bank, and Gaza Strip”

For reference and more information, please visit OECD.org